

City Council Public Hearing - Non-Regular Minutes

August 19, 2021 9:30 a.m. Council Chamber, 2nd floor, City Hall

Present: D. Iveson, M. Banga, T. Cartmell, T. Caterina, J. Dziadyk, B.

Esslinger, S. Hamilton, A. Knack, S. McKeen, M. Nickel, A.

Paquette, M. Walters

1. Call to Order and Related Business

1.1 Call to Order

Mayor D. Iveson called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m., Thursday, August 19, 2021, and acknowledged that City Council meets on the traditional land of Treaty 6 Territory. The Chair also acknowledged the diverse Indigenous peoples whose ancestors' footsteps have marked this territory for centuries such as: Cree, Dene, Saulteaux, Blackfoot, Nakota Sioux, as well as Metis and Inuit, and now settlers from around the world.

1.2 Roll Call

Mayor D. Iveson conducted roll call and confirmed the attendance of Members of City Council.

Councillor B. Henderson was absent as per the leave of absence authorized by City Council on August 16, 2021.

D. Beaudry, Deputy City Clerk, T. Orbell and M. de Guzman, Office of the City Clerk, were also in attendance.

1.3 Adoption of Agenda

Moved by: B. Esslinger Seconded by: M. Banga That the August 19, 2021, City Council Public Hearing Non-Regular agenda be adopted.

In Favour (12): D. Iveson, M. Banga, T. Cartmell, T. Caterina, J. Dziadyk, B. Esslinger, S. Hamilton, A. Knack, S. McKeen, M. Nickel, A. Paquette, and M. Walters

Carried (12 to 0)

1.4 Protocol Items

There were no Protocol Items.

2. Explanation of Public Hearing Process

2.1 Call for Persons to Speak

Mayor D. Iveson explained the public hearing process. D. Beaudry, Office of the City Clerk, asked whether there were any persons present to speak to the following bylaw:

Bylaw 19144

The following speakers registered in favour:

- 1. P. Amerongen, Energy Transition and Climate Resilience Advisory Committee
- M. Mellross. Alberta Ecotrust Foundation Climate Innovation Fund

3. Bylaws and Related Reports

3.1 Bylaw 19144 - Clean Energy Improvement Pilot Program

The following members of Administration's delegation made a presentation:

- S. McCabe, Deputy City Manager, Urban Planning and Economy
- B. Daly, Urban Planning and Economy

The following speakers made presentations and answered questions in favour:

- P. Amerongen, Energy Transition and Climate Resilience Advisory Committee
- M. Mellross, Alberta Ecotrust Foundation Climate Innovation Fund

The following members of Administration's delegation answered questions:

- S. McCabe, Deputy City Manager, Urban Planning and Economy
- B. Daly, Urban Planning and Economy
- I. Johnson, Office of the City Manager (Legal Services)

Mayor D. Iveson asked if there was anyone in attendance who wished to speak to new information. There was no one.

Moved by: M. Walters Seconded by: S. McKeen

That the Public Hearing on Bylaw 19144 be closed.

In Favour (12): D. Iveson, M. Banga, T. Cartmell, T. Caterina, J. Dziadyk, B. Esslinger, S. Hamilton, A. Knack, S. McKeen, M. Nickel, A. Paquette, and M. Walters

Carried (12 to 0)

Moved by: M. Walters Seconded by: M. Banga

- 1. That up to \$659,000 from the Planning and Environment Services branch operating budget, to fund costs for the Alberta Municipal Services Corporation (AMSC) program administration, beginning in 2021 and for the duration of the pilot, be approved.
- 2. That the terms of the financing agreement between the City of Edmonton and Federation of Canadian Municipalities, for an amount not to exceed \$8,434,400, as outlined in Attachment 3 of the August 19, 2021, Urban Planning and Economy report UPE00760, be approved, and that the agreement be in form and content acceptable to the City Manager.
- 3. That the terms of the financing agreement between the City of Edmonton and the Clean Energy Improvement Property Owner, as outlined in Attachment 4 of the August 19, 2021, Urban Planning and Economy report UPE00760, be approved, and that the agreement be in form and content acceptable to the City Manager.

In Favour (12): D. Iveson, M. Banga, T. Cartmell, T. Caterina, J. Dziadyk, B. Esslinger, S. Hamilton, A. Knack, S. McKeen, M. Nickel, A. Paquette, and M. Walters

Carried (12 to 0)

Moved by: M. Walters Seconded by: S. McKeen

That Bylaw 19144 be read a first time.

In Favour (12): D. Iveson, M. Banga, T. Cartmell, T. Caterina, J. Dziadyk, B. Esslinger, S. Hamilton, A. Knack, S. McKeen, M. Nickel, A. Paquette, and M. Walters

Carried (12 to 0)

Moved by: M. Walters Seconded by: D. Iveson

That Bylaw 19144 be read a second time.

In Favour (12): D. Iveson, M. Banga, T. Cartmell, T. Caterina, J. Dziadyk, B. Esslinger, S. Hamilton, A. Knack, S. McKeen, M. Nickel, A. Paquette, and M. Walters

Carried (12 to 0)

Moved by: M. Walters Seconded by: M. Banga

That Bylaw 19144 be considered for third reading.

In Favour (12): D. Iveson, M. Banga, T. Cartmell, T. Caterina, J. Dziadyk, B. Esslinger, S. Hamilton, A. Knack, S. McKeen, M. Nickel, A. Paquette, and M. Walters

Carried (12 to 0)

Moved by: M. Walters Seconded by: A. Paquette

That Bylaw 19144 be read a third time.

In Favour (12): D. Iveson, M. Banga, T. Cartmell, T. Caterina, J. Dziadyk, B. Esslinger, S. Hamilton, A. Knack, S. McKeen, M. Nickel, A. Paquette, and M. Walters

Carried (12 to 0)

4. Notices of Motion and Motions without Customary Notice

Mayor D. Iveson asked whether there were any Notices of Motion. There were none.

5. Adjournment

The incoming adjudition at 10. to anni, Thatbady, Magact 10, 2021	The meeting ac	ljourned at	10:40 a.m.,	Thursday,	August 19), 2021.
---	----------------	-------------	-------------	-----------	-----------	----------

Chair	City Clerk